Covenant Promotes 8 Faculty to Professorial Cadre

Vice-Chancellor, Covenant University, Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo (middle, sitting), Registrar, Dr Oluwasegun Omidiora (2nd left, sitting) with other members of Management and the new Professors (standing 3rd-10th).

The Management of Covenant University on Wednesday, January 27, 2021, announced the promotion of eight of its Faculty to the professorial cadre, even as the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo, called on the newly promoted persons to recognize the huge responsibilities their academic accomplishment is placing on them from now on.

While making the announcement, Professor Adebayo explained that the elevation of five Faculty to Full Professorship and three to Associate Professorship levels was the outcome of the promotion exercise carried out by the Appointment and Promotion Committee (A&PC) in the 2019/2020 Academic Session.

The Vice-Chancellor, who was enthused by the assessment report that culminated in promoting the University’s senior academics to professorial cadre, opined that being called a Covenant Professor placed a huge demand on them. He said there were expectations that they would improve on the success that got them to this level.

According to him, “You should know that the expectation on each of you will increase significantly, cutting across the academic and spiritual spheres of operation in the University, because to whom much is given, more is demanded.”

Professor Adebayo noted that the team of assessors that went through the scholarly work of those promoted, were both from within the nation’s academic circle and international scholars, thus reinforcing the merit-base criteria at the front of the promotion exercise.

The newly promoted full professors include Professor Anthonia Adeniji of the Department of Business Management; Professor Anthony Ede of Civil Engineering; Professor Mojisola Usikalu of Physics Department; Professor Pearl Opoko, Department of Architecture, and Professor Grace Olasehinde, Department of Biological Sciences.

Dr. Oluranti Agboola, Dr Augustine Ayeni, and Dr. Ayodele Ayoola, all of the Department of Chemical Engineering, were promoted from Senior Lecturer positions to Associate Professors.

The Head, Department of Civil Engineering, Professor Anthony Ede, appreciated the Board of Regents and the University Management for creating the enabling platform that had made the feat happen. He assured Management that the team would not disappoint the University and the grace for excellence will be available to serve.

Also present to witness the unveiling of the new professorial Faculty were the Registrar, Dr. Oluwasegun Omidiora; Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies (SPS), Professor Akan Williams; Dean, College of Leadership and Development Studies, Professor Olujide Adekeye; Dean, College of Science and Technology (CST), Professor Temidayo Omotosho; Dean, Student Affairs, Professor Conrad Omonhinmin; Director, Financial Services, Pastor Babatunde Onatola; and the University Chaplain, Pastor Kayode Martins.

(Visited 174 times, 1 visits today)