New Varsity’s Governing Council Pledges Better Staff, Students’ Welfare

Prof. Rasheed (6th Left); Dr. Oluremi Nurudeen Olaleye (6th Right); Mr. Gboyega Fatimilehin (5th Left); Prof. Tony Onipede – (4th Left); Mrs. Iyabo Kuteyi (5th Right); Dr. Yinka Adewusi (2nd Right); Mr. Olasunkanmi O. Longe (1st Right); Dr. Olumide O. Metilelu (3rd left); Dr. Kolawole G. Godonu (4th Left); Mr. Shakirudeen A. Bello, Registrar (3rd right); Mr. Jerry Maumo Jinadu, Bursar (2nd Left); and Mrs. Kuburat Yusuf, University Librarian (1st Left).

The Governing Council of the Lagos State University of Science and Technology (LASUSTECH), Ikorodu, formerly Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH), has promised to promote the welfare of its staff and students.

The institution’s Director, Information and Public Relations, Mr Lanre Kuye, disclosed this in a statement on Thursday in Lagos.

Kuye said that the council, which was recently constituted by the Lagos State Government, held its inaugural meeting on Wednesday.

He said that the LASUSTECH Governing Council also promised to promote effective learning and services to all within the institution.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that LASPOTECH transmuted to LASUSTECH following its accreditation by the National Universities Commission on Feb. 2.

Subsequently, the Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, appointed the Rector of the LASPOTECH, Ikorodu, Dr Oluremi Olaleye, as the Acting Vice-Chancellor of the newly established Lagos State University of Science and Technology.

Kuye listed the governing council members as Prof. Rasheed Ojikutu, Pro Chancellor/Chairman; Dr Oluremi Olaleye, Ag Vice Chancellor; Dr Olumide Metilelu, Ag Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic); Dr Kolawole Godonu – Ag. Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration).

“Some others are Prof. Tony Onipede, Mr Gboyega Fatimilehin, Mrs Iyabo Kuteyi, Mr Musiliu Folami, Mr Akindele Ogunranti, who are all government nominees.

“It also includes Dr. Yinka Adewusi, Mr Olasunkanmi Longe, Mrs Olufunmilayo Tifase, Mr Shakirudeen Bello, who are representatives of the institution’s Senate,” he said.

(Visited 236 times, 1 visits today)