Nigerian Govt Establishes Four New Universities In Osun, Jigawa, Others

Adamu, Education Minister

The Nigerian government has announced the establishment of four new universities to address shortfalls in technology, medicine, and nutrition.

The four new institutions are to be located in Jigawa, Akwa Ibom, Osun, and Bauchi States, while four other existing technology universities are also to be upgraded.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, who was represented by the ministry’s permanent secretary, Sonny Echono, disclosed this at a media briefing in Abuja on Monday.

Mr. Adamu also said that a National Institute of Technology (NIT) would be established in Abuja to serve essentially as a postgraduate centre devoted to research and innovation.

According to him, the initiative will draw the best graduates from the six universities of technology as well as other exceptional graduates from reputable universities within and outside Nigeria.

He said; “Recall that at the inception of President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration, he promised to establish an apex National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja with six satellite universities of technology, one in each geo-political zone of the country.

“This was captured in the 2015 APC manifesto and also stressed in the Education for Change: Ministerial Strategic Plan 2018–2022 of the ministry. The objective is to stimulate the rapid technological transformation of the country.

“After a comprehensive review of the policy by key stakeholders in the education sector, it was resolved that the four existing Universities of Technology located in Yola (North East), Akure (South West), Owerri (South East), and Minna (North Central) be upgraded and equipped while two additional universities of technology to be located in Jigawa and the Akwa Ibom States, would be established for the purpose.”

He said the National Institute of Technology (NIT) shall be patterned after similar institutions in Singapore and Malaysia.

(Visited 135 times, 1 visits today)