Ogun Closes 12 Secondary Schools Over Students’ Unrest

Prince Dapo Abiodun, Ogun State Governor

Following a series of attacks on teachers and security agents in Ogun State in recent times, the State government has directed 12 schools to proceed on compulsory holiday from Tuesday (yesterday) ahead of December 10 vacation date.

The State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Professor Abayomi Arigbabu, disclosed to our correspondent in a telephone chat in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital.

Arigbabu explained that the schools were shut due to violent clashes among the students and unruly behaviours towards their teachers.

He said the “compulsory holiday” which took effect from Tuesday, was meant to prevent the gathering of the students which could trigger any violence.

The Commissioner listed the affected schools tagged “hot spots” to include, Egba High School, Asero High School, Itori Comprehensive High School, Itori, Ofada Community Comprehensive High School, Ofada, and Lafenwa High School, Lafenwa, Abeokuta.

Others are Egba-Owode Grammar School, Owode, Community Comprehensive High School, Ijoun, Unity High School, Kajola Iboro,  Eyini Comprehensive High School, Iboro, Government Science & Technical College, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, Lisabi Grammar School and Methodist High School, Arigbajo.

Arigbabu, however, said Zonal Education Officers (ZEOs) in the affected zones have been directed to comply with the directive of the Ministry.


(Visited 224 times, 1 visits today)