Yabatech Signs Pact With UK Varsities On Science-Tech, Arts & Social Sciences

l-r, Yabatech Rector, Dr Engr Abdul Ibraheem, second left, with management staff of the University of Derby after the signing of pact between the two institutions in Derby, United Kingdom

Yaba College of Technology has signed pacts with the University of Derby (UOD) and University of Northampton (UON) based in Buxton, Derby and Northampton, London, respectively, on Science-Technology, Arts and Social sciences for strategic cooperation towards erecting a brighter future for the foremost institution in Nigeria and making it a world global brand.

The pacts were signed on behalf of the College by her Rector, Dr  Engr Abdul Ibraheem at the meetings between the management of the two universities during his formal visit to the two institutions in United Kingdom.

The heads of faculties and international engagements relations departments of the two Universities were in attendance at the signing of the memorandum of understanding.

The focus of the partnership with the University of Northampton centered on Arts, Science, and Technology.

It is to accomplish a cooperative relationship that covers exchange of teaching and research personnel, exchange of students programmes, development in research activities, exploration of collaboration at the course level like articulation arrangements, and activities of mutual interests.

University of Derby signed pact revolved finance, business and social sciences.

The two schools agreed to develop a framework for progression opportunities for graduates of the college to acquire further degrees, and  co-create to offer executive programs and short courses that will close skills gaps in the nation’s finance and business industry.

The collaboration also covered the college apprenticeship programmes in collaboration with blue chip industries in both countries to enhance quality skills development and mobility of such skills.

The Centre for Linkage, Partnership and International Relations (CLPIR) of Yaba College of  Technology will lead other relevant Centres in the college including the Centre for Research Support and Grants Management (CRSGM) in the actualization of the objectives of the signed pacts.

The University of Derby provides around 300 study programmes, as well as short courses and foundation degrees, through four faculties, namely: Faculty of Business, Computing and Law; Faculty of Art, Design & Technology; Faculty of Education, Health and Science. Each faculty offers a variety of courses that are superintended by individual research groups.

University of Northampton, however, is a public university based in Northampton, Northamptonshire, England. It was formed in 1999 by the amalgamation of a number of training colleges With the first one established in 1261, and gained full university status as the University of Northampton in 2005.

(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)