25 Professors Vie For Adekule Ajasin Varsity’s VC Post

... 11 Struggles To Be Registrar

By Adesola Ikulajolu

No fewer than 25 professors have shown interest in becoming the next Vice-Chancellor of Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba-Akoko.

EDUTORIAL gathered that the application for the topmost position of the University was closed on August 9, 2019, at around 4 pm.

The next VC will take over from the incumbent Professor Igbekele Ajibefun whose tenure will end January 2020.

The report has it that Professor Ajibefun had spent his compulsory five years in office as Vice-Chancellor of the 21st-century University.

Seven professors out of the 25 are currently working in AAUA.

Among the applicants are Professor Olugbenga Ige (Current DVC Admin), Professor Victor Olumekun (Current Director of Center for Research and Development), Professor Yemisi Adebowale (Immediate past DVC Academics), Professor Dayo Oludoro (Faculty of Arts), Professor Afolabi Ayonigbara and Professor C I. Daramola.

Others who are in the race but outside the University service include Professor Temiloluwa Ologunorisa (FUTA, Fmr. DVC OSU) and Professor Kayode Akeredolu (LASU) amongst others.

The report also has it that one Professor Adetula from the USA is also interested in the position.

On the other hand, 11 others are jostling for the position of the Registrar.

 This is to replace Dr. Sunday Ayeerun who left office after which Mr.  Opeoluwa Akinfemiwa took over as Acting Registrar.

However, the tension is high and expectations are that the best applicant who knows AAUA will be chosen as the next VC.

(Visited 357 times, 1 visits today)