BUK Beats UNILAG, UI, UNN, ABU, Wins Nigeria Higher Education Foundation Award

Bayero University has won a prestigious prize from the Nigeria Higher Education Foundation (NHEF) in a keenly contested competition to beat the University of Lagos, University of Ibadan, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, University of Port Harcourt and University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN).

A ten-member Bayero University team under the leadership of Professor Rufai Ibrahim, Director, Directorate of Research, Innovation and Partnership (DRIP), beat five other universities to win an interactive SMART board, the grand prize of fierce competition, at the end of a six-day training by the Nigeria Higher Education Foundation (NHEF) in Lagos.

The competition, which was organized by NHEF required each team to make a 10-minute multimedia summary presentation of the five-day training it conducted, using a SMART board they were trained on in five slides.

The training, which featured ten faculty members from six NHEF partner universities, was from 5th to the 8th of July 2023, and it took place at the Landmark Event Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos.

 The objective of the training was to inculcate key skills and knowledge to strengthen staff capacity in the areas of Grant Writing, Advancement Programs, Critical Thinking in the Classroom, Modern Day Teaching Practices, and Technology adoption/Artificial Intelligence in the Classroom.

 It was also to facilitate collaboration, networking and idea-sharing among faculty members from the various universities, thus sparking the same with other universities outside the circle.

 The Nigeria Higher Education Foundation (NHEF) was founded by the MacArthur Foundation in 2004  but is now being funded by the Kuramo Capital Management and a consortium of 21 partners. NHEF also conducts parallel training for 10 students each from the six universities going into their final year, for the purpose of sponsorship, mentoring, coaching and job placement on graduation.

Other members of the  BUK winning team included: Prof. Haruna Musa, Director, Academic Planning; Associate Prof., Abubakar Isah Umar, Dean of Faculty of Law; Dr. Muhammad Adamu Kwankwaso, HOD Education; Associate Prof.,  Salisu Abubakar Maiwada, Dep. Director, African Centre of Excellence in Population Health and Policy (ACEPHAP); Dr. Mustafa M Bello, African Centre of Excellence for Dryland Agriculture (CDA); Ahmad Tijjani Garba, Department of Information Technology;  Dr. Nura Lawal, Department of Nigerian Languages; Umar Sani Hanga, Ag. Director Centre for Information Technology (CIT); and Mustafa Ibrahim, Deputy Registrar, Advancement Directorate.


(Visited 97 times, 1 visits today)