Lagos Awards Varsity Scholarships To Best WASSCE Students

The Lagos State Government has awarded University scholarships to two students, Favour Anuoluwapo and Taiwo Muhammed, who emerged as the best students in the 2020 West African Senior Secondary Certificate Examinations.

This was as the state government hosted students who also emerged as champions at different national and international science competitions.

In a statement titled, ‘Lagos Awards Scholarship to Best WASSCE Students’, the State Commissioner for Education, Folasade Adefisayo, appreciated the students for their outstanding feats.

She revealed that the state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has approved varsity scholarships for Anuoluwapo and Muhammed who had Eight A’s and Seven A’s respectively at the 2020 WASSCE.

While addressing the students at a ceremony held at the Ministry of Education, Secretariat, Alausa, Adefisayo noted that the students’ outstanding performance was a testament to the improved quality of the education system in the state.

Adefisayo commended the various efforts of the students, stressing that one of the awardees, Olamide Marvelous, who represented the State at the African Leadership Academy competition, an international competition, emerged as the “Best Critical Thinker”.

She said, “This particular student has continued to make us proud as a State and our investment as a government in the education sector is no doubt yielding positive results”.

According to her, the State Government has continued to introduce various initiatives and innovations towards improving the educational system and some of the programmes have enhanced teaching and learning outcomes in schools.

Announcing some of the other awardees, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr. Abayomi Abolaji said, “Vetland Senior Grammar School representatives, Ebere Divine and Olajide Akorede as well as Seidu Samuel of Brainfield College represented the State at the 2021 National Institute of Physics Competition and clinched the first position. While Oladipupo Marvelous of Government Technical College, Agindigbi, was adjudged the ‘Best Critical Thinker’ at the 2021 African Leadership Academy Competition, Seidu Samuel of Brainfield College also emerged second in the 2021 Oluwole Awokoya Chemistry Competition.”


(Visited 52 times, 1 visits today)