LASU Elects Prof Boyo As New DVC Admin

The Senate of Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo on Tuesday elected Prof Adenike Omotunde Boyo as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) of the university.

She is to succeed Prof Oyedamola Oke, the former acting vice-chancellor, whose tenure as deputy vice-chancellor ended on 4th October 2021 after serving for two consecutive terms of four years.

Mrs Boyo, whose election is yet to be ratified by the governing council of the university, defeated her only opponent, Prof. Yinus Dauda Adeleke by 118 votes against 04 to emerge the winner.

She is a Professor of Physics and until her new office, the Dean of Faculty of Science of the university.

She joined the service of LASU as an Assistant Lecturer in 1990 and became an Associate Professor in 2008 and a full-fledged Professor in 2011.

According to the university in a statement, Prof Boyo is the first to be pronounced Professor of Physics in LASU and the first female Physicist in the university.

She was once seconded during leave in 2005 and for two years to Lagos State Ministry of Science and Technology as a Director of Science and Technology in Policy, Programmes, and Promotion.

She returned to the university after which she was appointed the Head of the Department of Physics from 2007 to 2009 and also at the same period the Deputy Director of Lagos State University Foundation Programme from 2008 to 2012.

Prof Boyo, 58, attended Reagan Memorial Baptist Girls Primary and Secondary Schools, Onike, Yaba, Lagos where she obtained her West African School Certificate in 1980 and G.C.E. ‘A’L at the Lagos State College of Science and Technology in 1983.

An alumnus of the University of Lagos (UNILAG) Akoka where she also had her Master of Science in Applied Physics (Solar Energy) in 1988, Prof Boyo bagged her Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Ilorin in 2004.

She is an author, a multiple-award winner, and member of many local and international bodies, including African Network for Solar Energy (ANSOLE), International Solar Energy Society, Solar Energy Society of Nigeria, Nigeria Institute of Physics, Third World Organization for Women in Science and so forth.

She is also a pastor in charge of Amen Assembly Parish of The Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG) and currently the President of LASU Chapter of OWSD, Materials Science and Technology Society of Nigeria, and the Ex- Officio of Material Science and Technology of Society of Nigeria (MSN), among others.

She has attended many local and international conferences and has travelled widely including to the USA, UK, Canada, Singapore, Turkey, Austria, Ethiopia, and South Africa.

She has two years for her new assignment which is also renewable for another term of two years.

Source: Tribune

(Visited 50 times, 1 visits today)